School Board Members

Emily Hartman, Board Member
Member since January 2017, Serving through December 2020
Emily Hartman

Emily Hartman, a lifelong Perry Township resident, is a 1996 graduate of Perry Meridian High School. Emily attended Purdue University and graduated in 1999 with a Bachelor of Science in Consumer Affairs with an emphasis in Human Resources. Since 2003 Emily has worked at Community South Hospital as the Administrative Coordinator for Surgical Services. Emily has served as President, Vice President and Treasurer for the Burkhart Elementary PTA. Emily is married to Joe, a 1994 graduate of Perry Meridian High School. Together they are raising their four school-aged children; GraceAnn, Josiah, Lydia and Amelia.

Ken Mertz, Board Member
Member since January 2008, Serving through December 2020
Ken Mertz

A 1987 graduate of Perry Meridian High School, Ken Mertz has lived in Perry Township since 1976. In 1991, Ken graduated from Ball State University with a Bachelor of Science in Marketing and a Bachelor of Science in Speech Communication. After college, Ken acquired invaluable training and experience while employed by IBM, Lego, and Chase. Presently, Ken serves as Vice-President in his family’s business. He’s happily married to Jennifer, who graduated from Perry Meridian High School in 1989, Indiana University in 1993, and Indiana University School of Law in 1998. Jennifer currently serves as Senior Majority Counsel with the Indiana Senate. Jennifer and Ken have two children — a son, Nathan and a daughter, Emily.

Collin Fultz, Board Member
Member since January 2018, Serving through December 2022
Collin Fultz

Collin Fultz is a 2004 graduate of Perry Meridian High School. He also holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering from Purdue University, which he earned in 2008. Collin works as a Project Manager for the global non-profit FIRST. He has also served on the Board of Directors for IndianaFIRST, the state-wide operational partner for FIRST, as board Secretary and President. He is an active volunteer in Perry Township schools. Collin lives in Perry Township with his wife Jenny, a 2005 PMHS graduate, and two sons: Jackson and Henry.

Steve Johnson, Board Member
Member since January 2017, Serving through December 2020
Steve Johnson

Steve Johnson is a graduate of Elizabethtown High School in Elizabethtown, Kentucky. Steve is a veteran of the in the United States Coast Guard, attended Eastern Kentucky University and earned his BA Degree majoring in history and education. He holds two Masters Degrees from Indiana University. His professional education career spans 30 years teaching Social Studies at Perry Meridian High School. Steve is married to Lynne, a teacher at Glenns Valley Elementary. They have a son Alex, a graduate of the College of the Holy Cross and an Air Force Officer, and a daughter Stephanie, who graduated from the University of Indianapolis and is currently a graduate student at Colorado State University. Both are graduates of Perry Meridian.

Charles R. Mercer, Jr., Board Member
Member since January 2008, Serving through December 2020
Charles R. Mercer, Jr.

After completing an undergraduate, as well as a law degree (JD) from Indiana University, Charles Mercer spent his career working within state government, first as an Administrative Law Judge for the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission and later as an Assistant Utility Consumer Counselor for Indiana. He was appointed by Governor Robert Orr as the first Consumer Counselor for Federal Affairs. The latter part of his career he worked with a law firm in Indianapolis, Verizon and, finally, United Telephone Company/Sprint. The last twenty years of his career he worked with the Indiana General Assembly and the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission as an attorney for Sprint.Mercer spent several years serving on the Board of Directors of InTrac with two terms as President of the Board. InTrac provides telephone relay service for the deaf and hard of hearing in the State of Indiana. He also served on the Wireless E-911 Board for nine years. In 2001, the Honorable Richard Mourdock, Indiana State Treasurer and Board chairman, along with other Board members, presented Mercer an Award of Gratitude for leadership and accomplishments toward improvement of wireless enhanced 911 services throughout the State of Indiana.Mercer also served on the Board of the Indiana Telecommunication Association for several years, serving as Chairman of the Board during 2003-2004. In 2004, he received the Distinguished Service Award by the Indiana Telecommunication Association for outstanding achievements and service to the Indiana Telecommunication Industry and his community.Mercer was admitted to practice law in the State of Indiana in 1968, also admitted to practice in the United States District Court for the Southern District of Indiana. In 1975, he was admitted to practice before the Supreme Court of the United States. In 2004, Governor Joseph Kernan honored Mercer by awarding him The Sagamore of the Wabash.Mercer married Ruth Anne Ake in 1963. They have lived at the same address in Perry Township since 1967. Chuck and Ruth Anne have five children, all of whom went to schools in Perry Township and later graduated from Indiana University. Chuck and Ruth now have 11 grandchildren, all living in Perry Township and attend or will be attending Perry Township schools.Mercer was elected to Perry Township Board of Education in May 2008 and will serve until 2020.

Hannah Dale, Board Member
Member since January 2019, Serving through December 2022
Hannah Dale

Hannah Dale is a lifelong resident of Perry Township and a 2006 graduate of Perry Meridian High School. Hannah attended the University of Indianapolis where she graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology in 2010. Hannah has held various professional roles in the non-profit world, focusing on mental health and disability advocacy. She has worked for Adult and Child Mental Health, Best Buddies Indiana, and most recently served as the Executive Director for the Perry Township Education Foundation (PTEF). In July of 2017, Hannah chose to step down from her position with PTEF to focus on raising her children as a stay at home mom. She has continued to serve for PTEF as Secretary on the Board of Directors. Hannah and her husband, Joel, have three children; Lennon, Milo, and Matilda.