Posted on March 12th, 2020 in Coronavirus, Featured, News

March 12, 2020

Public School Districts of Marion County Staff & Families,

Under the direction of Marion County Public Health Department (MCPHD) and in collaboration with Mayor Hogsett’s office, the public school districts of Marion County will be closed March 13 – April 5, 2020 due to Coronavirus and in an overabundance of caution.

After closely monitoring the situation, consulting medical experts, and giving careful consideration to what is best for our students, staff, and the communities we serve, the determination has been made to close all public school districts in Marion County effective tomorrow, Friday, March 13.

Contingency plans will be put in place to ensure that meals and uninterrupted learning experiences will be available for our students.   Details and local decisions regarding meals and continued learning will be shared in the coming days by each school district.

You will receive direct communication from your district soon that will include additional information regarding what to expect, detailed logistics, and where to find important updates.

Although we know that this may cause challenges for our families, it is essential for us to prioritize health and safety by implementing our pandemic plans and doing everything we can to support our communities throughout this quickly evolving health emergency.

The measure to close schools is being implemented by MCPHD to slow the spread of the virus by social isolation and distancing.  For this reason, it is not encouraged that staff and students go out into public spaces frequently or large gatherings during the closure time.

All public school districts in Marion County will remain in close collaboration with MCPHD and appropriate health authorities during this closure.  We encourage staff and families to remain engaged by visiting and .

If you have questions or concerns regarding the Coronavirus, please call the MCPHD Coronavirus Call Center at 317-221-5500 or contact your primary care physician.

Public School Districts of Marion County Superintendents,
Dr. Paul Kaiser, Beech Grove City Schools
Dr. Matt Prusiecki, MSD of Decatur Township
Dr. Bruce Hibbard, Franklin Township Community School Corporation
Mrs. Aleesia Johnson, Indianapolis Public Schools
Dr. Shawn A. Smith, MSD of Lawrence Township
Mr. Patrick W. Mapes, Perry Township Schools
Dr. Flora Reichanadter, MSD of Pike Township
Dr. Kyle Trebley, School Town of Speedway
Dr. Tim Hanson, MSD of Warren Township
Dr. Nikki Woodson, MSD of Washington Township
Dr. Jeff Butts, MSD of Wayne Township

Marion County Statement – Spanish