Posted on November 2nd, 2020 in Featured

The Journal, The Anchor win Hoosier Star awards

Southport High School’s student publications, The Journal and The Anchor, were awarded top honors by the
Indiana High School Press Association (IHSPA) as part of the organization’s virtual convention in October.
Both publications were named winners of the Hoosier Star competition, an annual recognition of the state’s top
student-produced newspapers, newsmagazines, websites, and yearbooks.

Southport High School is also proud to announce winners of the 2020 Harvey contests. The contests, named
after longtime Indiana high school journalism adviser Rowena Harvey, recognize the top student journalists in
individual and group categories. Southport’s yearbook, The Anchor, won a first place rating for its 2019 overall
theme, “Be.”

Amid tough competition from across the state, the following individuals also won awards:

Earning first place awards:
Eli Beck for writing portfolio
Nathan Smith for sports writing

Earning a second place award:
Kelsey Jones for photo portfolio

Earning a third place award:
Kelsey Jones for sports photo

Earning honorable mentions:
Emma Herwehe for news writing
Elizabeth Valadez for column writing
Jessica Lemons & Alicia Zook for current event coverage
Elliott Brown, Hope Reynolds & Sara Brummet for coverage of student clubs

For more information, contact faculty advisers Mike Klopfenstein ( or Sam
Hanley (