Posted on August 27th, 2013 in Featured, General News

The Indiana Department of Education has named Southport High School as one of a few Indiana schools to receive the Indiana Gold Star School Counseling Award in 2013.  Gold Star schools undergo a rigorous process to raise student achievement by creating local community advisory groups that review student data, set specific student goals, and commit to maximizing the time and skills of the school counselor. The official award presentation will be at the Indiana School Counselor Association (ISCA) fall conference in Indianapolis on November 15, 2013.

SHS Advisory Committee photo:

Back row: Amy Boone, Elizabeth Walters, Julie Fierce, Barbara Huotari / front row: LaMont Rascoe, Erin Shimp, Briana Underwood, Tricia Bender, Geneve Cung, Lisa Beckwith, Vivian Leach, Norm Brown / not pictured: Tina Tracy, Stephanie Schene, Kevin Sitzman, Jonathon Hawkins, Sun Meng).