Posted on December 6th, 2018 in Featured, News

Congratulations, Caitie Baird! The Perry Meridian senior was named by the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) to the 13th annual First Under Armour Girls High School All-America Team.

Caitie is an academic standout, who has already earned a scholarship to Stanford University where she will study human biology and sports management. She is also a member of the 2018 USA Women’s Junior National Volleyball team, which recently won Gold at the 2018 Norceca Continental Championship.

A record 793 nominations were submitted through the AVCA and MaxPreps, resulting in 150 All-America and Honorable Mention All-Americans. Many already committed to play collegiate volleyball at some of the top schools in the country.

Click for the complete list of teams

Each of the players on the First-Team will be invited to play in the Under Armour All-America Volleyball Match. The event will be held at the Target Center on Friday, December 14th in conjunction with the 2018 AVCA Convention. For details on attending the match in person or watching online, please visit the Under Armour All-America Match webpage.

Requirements for nomination were that the student-athlete be in her senior year of high school, that she be nominated by her high school coach, that her coach be a member of the AVCA and that her individual season statistics versus all opponents for the entire season be entered into MaxPreps, a free service that aggregates and distributes data on high school sports.

The state of Texas leads all honorees with 25 awards, while California is second with 11. The universities with the most commitments are Purdue with five while Ohio State, Stanford, Virginia, and Baylor each net four. Nebraska, Stanford, and Wisconsin land the most on the First-Team with three.

The Under Armour Girls High School All-America Committee consists of: Chair: Carol Russo, Region 1: Rob Slavin (Sacred Heart High School (MA)); Region 2: Tony Crisafulli (North Star High School (PA)), Lee Clowers (Mount Olive High School (NJ)); Region 3: Donna Fleming (Columbus High School (GA)); Region 4: Marci Laracuent (Westlake High School (TX)); Region 5: Tracey Kornau (Lakota West High School (OH)); Region 6: Kyle Yackley (Kenosha Bradford High School (WI)); Region 7: Mike Brandon (Gretna High School (NE)); Region 8: Nancy Dorsey (St. James Academy (KS)); Region 9: Jessica Papell (University High School (CA)); Region 10: Alex Tarin (Snohomish High School (MT)).

This news release was written in collaboration with American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA)