Posted on August 22nd, 2018 in Featured, News

Congratulations to Rosa Parks Elementary teacher Kelli Sommers!

The Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) announced she is among the 2017-2018 State Finalists for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. The six Indiana finalists will now move forward to the national level.

“Proficiency in mathematics and science is vital to a well-rounded education,” said Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction. “I am extremely proud of our Indiana finalists and want to recognize them for their dedication to excellence in these subjects.”

The Presidential Awards are the nation’s highest honors for teachers of mathematics and science (including computer science). Since 1983, more than 4,800 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and their profession. Award recipients serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education. In addition, recipients receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States, a trip to Washington D.C. to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities, and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation (NSF). NSF administers the awards program on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Indiana finalists underwent a rigorous application process and were selected by a state committee for their outstanding qualifications. All six finalists will participate in an honor and recognition luncheon on October 4. Below is a complete list of the 2017-2018 finalists:

Indiana Finalists for Math:

Megan Dunn – Clinton Central Elementary School, Michigantown

Michael Maesch – Knapp Elementary School, Michigan City

Holly Miller – Riverside Intermediate School, Fishers

Indiana Finalists for Science:

Daniel Cairl – Fremont Middle School, Fremont

Aaron Hamilton – Wyandotte Elementary School, Lafayette

Kelli Sommers – Rosa Parks Elementary School, Indianapolis

For more information about the Presidential Awards, please visit: To view a list of past awardees, please visit:

This news release was created thanks to a collaboration with Press Secretary Adam Baker, Indiana Department of Education.