Winter Sports Info – 2021

POSTED OCTOBER 17, 2021

Parents & Athletes,      

The following procedures and policies for PMMS Athletics will be put in place to keep our coaches and athletes safe this upcoming Winter Sports Season.   Please be aware that these policies and procedures are mandatory for our athletes and coaches to follow.   We are following the Indiana DOE and the IHSAA recommendations, while also staying consistent with our high school.  Please note that these procedures and start times remain tentative based on current health information provided by the state of Indiana, the ISDH and the IHSAA.   This letter is lengthy, but extremely important.   Please be sure to read each section. Thank you for your time and for helping us keep our coaches and athletes safe!

ALL ATHLETES MUST BE REGISTERED FOR SPORTS USING FINAL FORMS ATHLETE REGISTRATION!  Any athlete who attends practice without being fully eligible in final forms will not be eligible to participate.  This can be found on the school’s website at http://www.perryschools.org/pm/athletics/finalforms/

       

Forms that must be submitted (paper copy to the athletic office) prior to the first day of practice/participation/tryouts

A valid IHSAA physical dated after April 1, 2021 https://www.ihsaa.org/Portals/0/ihsaa/documents/quick%20resources/2020-21%20Physical%20Form.pdf?ver=2020-01-17-

  

Here are other precautions we are taking to keep our coaches and athletes safe, based on recommendations from the DOE and IHSAA:

-If an athlete is not feeling well, please not send the athlete to a workout.   If an athlete is diagnosed with COVID-19, please report that to your coach ASAP.

-All students should bring their own LABELED water to workouts. Water bottle filling stations will be accessible.

-When practicing inside the building, all athletes will wear a mask while entering and exiting.  Athletes do not have to wear a mask while exercising.   Coaches will wear a mask while inside the building and working close to our athletes.

-When practicing outdoors, athletes will not be required to wear a mask.   Coaches will wear a mask when in close proximity to our athletes.

-Any student who prefers to wear a mask while participating, provided it does not cause a health risk, will be allowed to do so. 

-When arriving and leaving workouts, all coaches and athletes will use provided hand sanitizer or will be asked to wash their hands.

-Before and after each practice, equipment will be sanitized using a disinfectant spray.

-All clothing worn at a workout must be washed before it can be brought back to the next workout.   

-Workouts are closed to anyone other than our coaches and athletes.

-After a workout, athletes should be picked up immediately and the parking lot should be cleared. 

-Limited Locker room access.  Athletes should come dressed for the workout.  

You will find contact information for our Winter Sports below.  Please contact the coaches listed for any questions you may have about an individual sport.  It is very important that you complete the final forms registration and IHSAA physical requirements prior to the first day of participation.

If you have any questions, please contact me at smast@nullperryschools.org. 

Steve Mast

Athletic Director

Boys Basketball:
Grades 7-8  Coaches:
Ryan Goins (8th Grade Head Coach) rgoins@nullperryschools.org
Nick Dobbins (8th Assistant Coach) ndobbins@nullperryschools.org
Ryan Short (7th Grade Head Coach) rshort@nullperryschools.org
Mason Wetzel (7th Grade Assistant Coach) mwetzel@nullperryschools.org

Preseason dates: Monday, 9/27 6:30 – 8:00 West Gym
Wednesday, 9/29 6:30 – 8:00 West Gym,
Monday, Oct. 4 6:30 – 8:00 PMA Gym
Wednesday, 10/6 6:30 – 8:00 PMA Gym
Tryouts: Mon 10/25, Tue 10/26 and Wed 10/27.
8th Grade 3:30 – 5:30 East Gym, 7th Grade 6:30 – 8:30 East Gym

Wrestling:
Grades: 6-8  Coaches:
Nick Walpole (Head Coach) nwalpole@nullperryschools.org
Dave Walpole Sr. (Assistant Coach)  dbwalpole@nullperryschools.org

Preseason Practice (Optional): Monday & Wednesday Starting Nov 1. 3:15-4:30
First Official Practice: Monday, November 29th, 3:15 – 5:00
Practices will be on Mon – Friday, 3:15 – 5:00
Parent Meeting: Wednesday, December 1st, 6:00, Cafeteria

Girls Basketball:
Grades 7-8   Coaches:
Kelly Swisher (8th Head Coach)  kswisher@nullperryschools.org,
Megan Rumple (8th Assistant Coach) mrumple@nullperryschools.org,
Aspen Lovejoy (7th Head Coach) alovejoy@nullperryschools.org

Preseason Conditioning:
Tuesday 11/16, Thursday 11/18, Tuesday 11/30 and Thursday 12/2 3:15pm – 5:00pm – PMA Gym

Tryouts:
December 7 & 8, 3:30 – 5:00 – PMMS East Gym

Parent Meeting: TBA

Boys & Girls Swimming and Diving:
Grades 6-8  Coaches:
Madi Likens (Head Coach) mlikens@nullperryschools.org
TBD (Assistant Coach)
TBD (Diving)

First Practice:  Monday, January 3rd, Time TBD

Look back for more information coming soon.